Family

“The love of a family is Life’s greatest blessing.”

IMG_7018

 

My four days at my Aunt Maria’s house were wonderful! It was nice to be in a home again after a whole month in someone else’s apartment. Maria and I poured over photo albums together and talked about the family. The best thing was how we switched between English and German in our conversations and how we’d use Maria’s dictionary to compare words.

Anyway, this is a picture of when I first arrived at Maria’s home. She was so sweet and got me a flower. (Somehow all of the flower shops in the Frankfurt train station evaded me, so I couldn’t buy Maria flowers.)

2016-02-26 15.03.47 copy

Maria’s daughter Monika and her family stayed at Maria’s house on Saturday and Sunday. We hung out on Saturday, but on Sunday we visited Siegen’s castle, which is now a museum today. Here’s a picture of everyone (from left to right): Monika, Maria, Karla, Finn, and Colin.

2016-02-27 17.31.23 copy

And here’s a picture of the Nikolai Church. Adorning the church is one of Siegen’s major landmarks: a coronet given to this church by Prince Johann Moritz of Nassau-Siegen (of the noble family who ruled the area).

IMG_7035

Maria’s cooking is also amazing! I’ve never eaten so much delicious cake in my life. Every afternoon we had Kaffee & Kuchen, which is a pretty traditional German thing. For dinner, there’s bread with all kinds of meats and cheeses. And breakfast is usually toast with jelly.

For those of you who don’t know, Maria is the youngest sister of my Oma. She’s the second youngest child of all the Eberts. Her daughter Monika is a ceramicist. I always grew up with my mom calling her “the other artist in the family.” I really hope Monika and Kate can meet at some point!

2016-03-01 22.34.18 copyAlso, Monika made me a mug!
I think its awesome and I’ve been using it almost every day.

Colin is Monika’s husband. He’s British and has one of those awesome British accents. He’s also an art teacher. They have two kids, Karla and Finn. Karla’s super good at gymnastics and Finn plays Handball (beware, the European version is not like Wallball at all. It’s a real sport.) I had a great time getting to know them.

Bis Bald,

Jacque

Leave a Reply

