Third Week…and More History!

“Music is the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life.” – Ludwig van Beethoven

IMG_7111

 

Again, this week was mostly classes, and I imagine I’ll be writing that a lot more once the semester starts. This weekend was fun though!

One of Anna’s friends had a birthday party and I was invited along. It was a floor party, so there was a table set up with food in the hallway and everyone was gathered around it listening to music. There was a lot of classic American Rock, which was pretty awesome. I got to meet some new people. Conversations were sometimes half in German and half in English, but hey, I’m trying.

I went home early since there was another excursion on Saturday. We went to Bonn! The bus ride was over two hours, since it is in another Bundesland, but it was still a good time. I brought my book Reckless, but I couldn’t read the German for very long before I started falling asleep. Its really hard to read in another language.

Bonn itself was really cool! We picked up our tour guide and stayed on the bus for another hour. Bonn is simply so big and has so much that it made sense to do a bus tour. The city of Bonn is over 2,000 years old. I don’t know what document it’s mentioned in, but apparently the earliest mentioning of Bonn is from 11 BCE. It was later used as a Roman fort to guard against the Germanians on the other side of the Rhine. (Did I mention that the Rhine is giant and super pretty? Because it is.) Skip to the 1600s and you have some bishop with a golden boat who had three different palaces which are now part of Bonn University.

Go to the next century and you have: Beethoven.

2016-03-19 14.49.27 copySorry for the bad quality. It was with my phone. But that’s Beethoven’s statue in Bonn’s main square.

Here’s another interesting history story (please skip if you’ve had enough of my history rants): Maria Theresa of Austria had 16 kids. By the time her youngest son, Maximilian Franz, could marry anybody, everyone was taken. So he became a bishop: lots of money, family on the side…it was a pretty sweet deal. I actually have no idea how Max Franz was as a bishop. Also he was technically the bishop of both Cologne and Bonn. Anyway, he missed Vienna a lot. He remade whole streets to look more like Vienna. Because of this, his mother tried to bring some of Vienna to Bonn. One notable example is Haydn. Maria Theresa sent Haydn to her son’s court in the late 1700s, and while Haydn was there he essentially discovered Beethoven. Little Ludwig was just a teen playing in the Bishop’s orchestra. So basically because some fancy bishop was homesick, we have Beethoven. Who knew?

We also had a few hours in the city to get lunch and look around. I really liked the look of the city. It reminds me a bit of San Fransisco, except without the hills, obviously.

IMG_7104  2016-03-19 14.52.26 copy

2016-03-19 14.46.23 copy  2016-03-19 14.41.28 copy

And I kid you not, I had the best burger that I’ve had while in Germany. If anyone visits Bonn, you have to find “Uni Burger.” I assume its really popular among the college kids, but they honestly made good burgers. I ate mine so fast I couldn’t even take a picture. But I had a Jalapeño Cheeseburger and it satiated some of my craving for the food back home. I’d probably go back to Bonn just for the burger.

At the end of the day, we went to the House of History, which is Bonn’s modern history museum.

IMG_7121Quickly made flags right after the war.

Bonn, of course, was the capital of West Germany, so it makes sense they would have a huge museum about East and West Germany.

IMG_7122These cards were made by organizations like the Red Cross to help connect families that had been separated. This was just half of the “L” section.

IMG_7135 (1)Mmmm…I like donuts

IMG_7143Dem ‘Murican Jeans

It was a very good museum! We had a tour guide, so we went through it a bit fast, but I enjoyed it.

We got back to Gießen after 8pm. Some of us went to do grocery shopping at the Rewe two stops before our dorm. Oh! And the other day, I bought some flowers! They bloomed really quickly.

2016-03-20 10.21.02 copy

On Sunday, a couple of us decided to go see Kung Fu Panda 3. I saw it before I left, but this time it’d be in German, which is good practice. It seems half the things I do nowadays are for good practice. Since being in Germany, I’ve found that I can understand what is going on in a conversation, but I don’t understand all of the words being said. Hopefully by the end of the semester I’ll improve.

 

Bis Bald,

Jacque

Leave a Reply

